top of page
  • Writer's pictureelizabeth zimmerman

blog overhaul !!

Hello, everyone!


I have many updates for y'all, but first... an announcement! *drum roll please*


After much reflection & wrestling, I have decided to overhaul my blog's theme & content!!



You heard me. My blog is going to evolve.


I originally created my blog as a space for me to process books I've read, as well as publish reviews, advice, & other thoughts. However, I have been thinking a lot about my Calling; that is, why God put me here on this earth. I've always been an avid reader, which led me to major in English. But my interests & passions span so much more than just books. I also feel drawn to languages & linguistics, pedagogy, history, social activism, psychology, & so many other fields.


This self-examination has resulted in a sort of breakthrough for me in terms of my life philosophy. As a Christ Follower, I strive to emulate Jesus in all areas of my life. I believe all human beings are created in God's Image. We are each a unique manifestation of the Divine, connected because of our shared value in Christ. That is what makes us human. However, there are myriad ways to be human, & we all have our own stories that characterize us. Over the years, I have found myself increasingly drawn to others' stories. There is no single "right" way to live. Unfortunately, not everyone believes that, & there is a lot of injustice & inequity in the world because some people's stories are valued more than others.


As an Enneagram 1 wing 2, I am an activist. I care about people a whole lot. I value others, & it makes me extremely angry, frustrated, & sad when other people are disrespected & devalued because of their identities & experiences. And as a white, cisgender, heterosexual, able-bodied, neurotypical (for the most part), Christian American woman, I have many privileges. It is irresponsible of me to ignore my privileges & live my life as though I am not over-advantaged. There are others with the same intellect, creativity, & drive who have not accomplished as much as I have because they are devalued for who they are. That is not to undercut my hard work & sacrifices, but to emphasize that we live in a world where not all stories are valued. I want to change that.


Yes, I love to learn about the experiences of those who live in ways that differ from myself, but, I've found, literature isn't the only medium for me to do that. Additionally, what good is my knowledge of others' stories if I do nothing with it? Literature does not exist in a vacuum. Stories do not exist in a vacuum. I want to employ my love of people, my knowledge of stories, & my dedication to the Word of God in order to uplift others. I want to continue learning & sharing my knowledge. I want to continue writing & processing. I want to use my gifts & talents in order to make the world a better place.


So, what does that look like in this space? To be honest, I don't know yet, not completely. I will continue to publish reviews, advice, recommendations, & whatnot, related to literature & reading. But this will also be a space for me to publish mostly unfiltered thinkpieces, engaging with contemporary affairs. I want this to be a space where conscientious & curious discussion can take place, a space to learn & grow. I want you, my readers, to share your own thoughts. I want to create change through an ongoing conversation with the world about what it means to be human, challenging modern notions about right & wrong, good & evil, socially acceptable & unacceptable.


Here's the challenge. I am going to write, topics TBD. I will try to choose subjects that are relevant & important to consider. I want you to read what I write & respond. Maybe that is mulling the topic over in your head, commenting on my blog or on social media, sharing your own thoughts, having conversations, writing or journaling in response. Do what you feel is best. I don't make the rules. All I ask is that you take this journey with me. What does it mean to be human? Let's find out.


xx Liz


What do you want to see on my blog in the future?

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page