top of page
  • Writer's pictureelizabeth zimmerman

what is racism?

Hello, readers!


Before we begin, I want to make clear that I will not tolerate any racist comments on this post. What I am saying is based in fact & on the experiences of BIPOC in the western world. If you do not believe me, I urge you to read Ibram X. Kendi's Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America. It is a comprehensive historical analysis of racism in the United States. I acknowledge that I am no expert, but I have done & continue to do extensive research on these issues. If you want to know more about my sources, let me know. And if you wish to dispute any of my claims, please be civil & check your racism before you comment.



If you grew up in similar circumstances to me (white, suburban, middle class), then you might have been taught from a relatively young age that being racist is bad, and thus no good person can be racist. Indeed, this is something I believed for a long time. I'm not racist, I thought, because I believe that everyone was created equal by God. This is the mentality that many white people hold.


Even the Oxford English Dictionary, one of the most prestigious English dictionaries, perpetuates the idea that racism is an attitude any person can hold, defining it as: "A belief that one’s own racial or ethnic group is superior, or that other such groups represent a threat to one's cultural identity, racial integrity, or economic well-being..."


Yet this definition is incomplete. Certainly, one person can be racist by consciously thinking & acting as though their racial/ethnic group is superior to others, but that is just a small part of how racism operates. Racism is much more than personal prejudice against those of another race. It is an institutional system of oppression that targets BIPOC in many ways, from housing discrimination & mass incarceration to lack of access to quality healthcare & education. Furthermore, racism can only be perpetuated against BIPOC. White people cannot experience racism because we are not discriminated against at the institutional level.


If you are defining racism as conscious personal prejudice, then there are not so many racists out there. How many KKK members, white nationalists, or neo-Nazis do you personally know? There aren't many people these days who fall into those categories. But that doesn't mean racism is disappearing. It is merely adapting to fit our current culture, in which racist language is not politically correct. No longer is it common to say the n-word or express explicit disdain for BIPOC. Instead, we refer to black men as "thugs" & label black living spaces as "ghetto" or "sketchy." We no longer support politicians who are openly racist, but we don't mind those who denigrate "illegal aliens," push the War on Drugs, want to cut taxes or defund welfare, & support "state's rights." If you don't believe me, look at who these policies are negatively affecting. It isn't upper- & middle-class white people, that's for sure.


Institutionalized racism should be our main focus in the struggle for justice, equity, & reparations, but we cannot tackle racism at the systemic level without also tackling it at the personal level. White supremacy, which upholds institutionalized racism, is not just a belief or an attitude, but a largely unconscious set of behaviors & ways of being. In the western world, we are socialized into believing its lies, even as it actively harms BIPOC. And once we have been indoctrinated into the white supremacist way of thinking, we begin to contribute to the problem.


Though it is a systemic issue, white supremacy is upheld by individuals. We do not have to be aware of the evils of white supremacy to buy into it. Indeed, many white people who believe they are nice & "colorblind" are some of the worst offenders, because they do not see themselves as "racist" & so do not do anything to remedy the problem. Unless & until we become conscious of the problem, reflect on our own racist ideologies, & work to dismantle racism in both ourselves & our society, white supremacy will continue to thrive.


I used to believe that racism was a problem that didn't concern me. I thought it was just an abstract force that worked against BIPOC. But none of those beliefs actually helped BIPOC in any way. It merely enforced the idea that BIPOC are disempowered & led me to become apathetic. Now, I know that it is more personal than that. Racism is a white problem. Racism was created by white people, & so we need to work towards dismantling it. There are many ways to do that, but first I'd urge you to look at yourself & how you are contributing to the problem. Layla F. Saad's book Me and White Supremacy: Combat Racism, Change the World, and Become a Good Ancestor contains 28 days of journaling prompts for white & white-passing people who hold white privilege to unpack their own contributions to white supremacy. I highly recommend this resource, as it contextualizes our understanding of how white supremacy actually works.


If my words anger, annoy, confuse, disappoint, or frustrate you, ask yourself why. Do you see racism as a quality that only "bad" people can embody? Do you take offense at my suggesting that white people have work to do? Do you feel uncomfortable at the idea that you have unearned privilege? I urge you to dig deeper & understand the roots of your feelings. Only by doing so can you begin to become truly anti-racist.


xx Liz


What work are you doing to become anti-racist?


A note: I have not completed the journaling prompts yet, as I purchased the audiobook, unaware of the self-reflection aspect of it. I will be purchasing a hard copy soon. Additionally, I am aware that I am a white person writing this post, so if you see anything problematic, racist, or factually incorrect about my post, please inform me. I am doing my best to be anti-racist, & I realize that means I need to be open to being called out for racist words & behavior when applicable. Thank you.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page