top of page
  • Writer's pictureelizabeth zimmerman

how to read more

Updated: Jun 16, 2020


It's officially the New Year, and you know what that means: New Year's Resolutions! Personally, I rarely stick to mine in their pure form because I tend to dream big and forget to take into account reality. But, in an effort to be more realistic this year, I've made several specific goals. One of these is to read 80 books. That might sound like a ton to some people, and like child's play to others, but the important thing is that I am better than myself last year. If you've made a similar goal, I would encourage you to implement some of the things I've discovered help to increase my reading time.



1. always have a book with you


Wherever you go, always have a book on hand. Leave it in your car or bag, keep an ebook on your phone, but make sure it's accessible if you have some unexpected free time. That way, you won't be tempted into checking Instagram for the 43rd time today. You already know that Esther got a new boo and that Gretchen's son just learned how to walk--now exit the app and get reading.


2. consider audiobooks


If you only remember one thing from this post, let it be this: audiobooks are a gift from heaven. I have a monthly subscription to Audible, which means I can get a new book each month. It helps me fit reading in when I would normally just listen to music or enjoy the silence (not that either of those things are wrong!). I listen to my audiobook when I'm doing the dishes or walking to class or cleaning up my desk. It helps me immerse myself in something other than the task at hand and makes time pass more quickly. If you don't want to pay for Audible, there are plenty of free audiobooks on YouTube, and your library might partner with a service like Overdrive or Hoopla, where you can rent audiobooks.


3. habit layer


So you want to read, but you just can't get it to stick? My number one tip here is to habit layer; i.e., pair existing habits with habits you'd like to implement. Maybe you always shower at night, so you can use that shower as a cue to crack open a book. Or if you always have spare time during your lunch break, train yourself to read right after lunch. That way, it doesn't feel like such a chore to create a new habit.


4. prioritize


Let's be honest, we have all said, "I don't have time for that." But this phrase irks me so much, because we all have the same 24 hours in a day. What we really mean when we say this is that it's not a priority. And sometimes, that's okay! If you've prioritized being a full-time student, working 20 hours a week, and being in a committed relationship, maybe you don't have time to do other things, like cooking elaborate meals or attempting to learn French. But that's because those things aren't your priority. But if you really want to do something, such as read more, you've got to make it a priority. That might mean going to bed 20 minutes later or spending less time on Facebook. If reading is truly a priority, you will make time for it.


5. join goodreads


Goodreads is my favorite social network because it combines personal goal setting with book reviews, tbr (to-be-read), discussions, recommendations, stats, and more. I'd recommend that anyone who is a serious reader get a Goodreads account. I use mine to keep myself accountable to my yearly goals, mark which books I've read and review them, look for new books, and see what my friends are reading. Every time I open the website, it reminds me why I love to read and inspires me to read more diversely and deeply. Go check it out!


xx Liz


Do you have any other tips for reading more?

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page